Karina Chronicles

Woman We Love: Ambika B.

Time to meet another inspirational and inspiring woman! Say ‘hi’ to Ambika.

Name: Ambika B.
Age: 33
Location: Seattle WA
Online homes: Etsy//Twitter//Pinterest//Flickr
Favorite Karina dress: Jane

What are your every day, must-reads, online or off?
I used to have a Google reader chock full of craft, fashion, photography and travel blogs but mostly only have time these days for the bare minimum: Metafilter, The Hairpin, Twitter and Pinterest.

How do you stay excited and motivated during the long, cold winter?
Though Seattle has a reputation for rain, there are lots of places that get far more rainfall.  However, it often tops the list for the most overcast days. You just don’t see sun in winter. & having lived here my whole life, you’d think I’d be used to it.  Some ways to keep from wanting to move to San Diego? Exercise, especially outside during daylight hours;, having fun with fall harvest hobbies like making beer or crushing grapes for wine; and making sure to schedule lots of indoor activities with friends.  I personally like craft nights or board game nights.

What are your top three style tricks?

  • Wearing clothes that fit.  I do simple alterations myself and will walk away from bargains if the alterations will take more of my time than it’s worth.  I cannot over-emphasize the need to wear garments that don’t pucker, wrinkle, or make you tug at them all day.
  • Not fearing color.  I never get more sweet comments than when I wear my bright yellow pants, my bright yellow shoes, or my crazy sunshine tank…hmm, I’m sensing a theme here!
  • I love a funky neckline.  I gravitate towards sewing patterns with cowl or peter pan collars, and do the same with ready-to-wear clothes.  I feel like they draw attention up to your face, and can sometimes frame your shoulders and collar bones in a lovely way.

If you could give a piece of advice to your 16-year-old self, what would you say?
Stop worrying so much.  Really.  Everything will turn out okay.

Your perfect day.  What would it look like?
A quiet morning with tea and making things while listening to terribly girly music followed by an evening with the people I care about talking about anything and everything over a great meal.

Thanks Ambika for sharing!


Leave a comment